Sleepless in Albany, NY

Making my acquaintance with the sandman was a challenge last night, and so my second entry must focus on my favorite patient: me. Most nights, I climb into bed and fall asleep within 10 to 15 minutes, but last night was different. I tossed and turned and couldn’t seem to ever fully relax. It was until well into the night (almost morning) before I dozed off.

Not surprisingly, I’ve written about insomnia before, and experts tell me that it’s a part of the human condition. That’s the first thing to keep in mind when you can’t sleep. There’s no need to fret that you’ll develop heart disease or some insidious illness because you’re missing a night of slumber. Fretting will only keep you awake.

Second, you should get out of bed and so something mundane. I did not do that. Instead, I lay there whiling the the hours away and slowly becoming more worried about all I had to do today.  The only time I did get up was to use the bathroom and to attempt a relaxing yoga pose.

Third, never look at the clock. Looking at the clock triggers more worrying. While I managed to avert the glare of the red numbers on our digital clock most of the night — it’s easy when you’re near-sighted — I did take a peek at 2:08 a.m.

Finally, get up the next day at the usual time. With the usual hustle and bustle of the morning, that was easy to do. I even managed to take our dog Loki for a 20-minute walk, which bodes well for tonight. Regular exercise and sunshine after all, prep the body for sleep, which is something I hope to do tonight.

About healthywritermom

I'm a health writer and the married mom of two daughters, who finds herself constantly tending to the health needs of her family. Writing ab
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

