Too Much Health Information

When you’re a health writer, every little symptom is cause for concern. Dry skin might signal eczema, a blue mood might mean depression, a mole may be skin cancer. But I knew I’d crossed the line when I got suspicious about a pan.

Not long ago, I was at my neighbor’s Pampered Chef party, scouring the catalog for my next purchase when I spotted an aluminized pan. My friend and I had just been talking about Alzheimer’s, and somewhere in the deep recesses of my memory, I recalled a link between Alzheimer’s and aluminum.

So I asked the hostess if she knew anything about whether the aluminized pan might be a health problem. “Hmmm…I don’t really know,” she said diplomatically. I can only imagine what she was really thinking at the moment.

I sauntered over to a friend with an iPhone and asked her to do some on-the-spot research for “aluminum” and “Alzheimer’s.” A page on the Alzheimer’s Association website told me that scientists had never confirmed a link.

I breathed a sigh of relief – I really liked the pan – and plunked down my credit card. Sometimes, writing about health can be dangerous to your mental health.

About healthywritermom

I'm a health writer and the married mom of two daughters, who finds herself constantly tending to the health needs of her family. Writing ab
This entry was posted in General Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

